top of page

The ultimate pumpkin sauce

Yes, it's in season, yes I'm in love with pumpkins, but listen, if you make this sauce, this will be a staple in your kitchen from now on.


We picked our pumpkins a bit early this year and had some green ones. As we can't eat just pumpkin for every meal we had to dice up and freeze a good amount. Now I'm starting to use these for the winter season.


Pumpkin is a great vegetable for sweet and savoury dishes too, you can add any spice, it will elevate the flavour.


As we had the green ones too, they don't have that strong flavour so you can hide it easily in your meals without anyone noticing it.

This sauce is easy to make, versatile, and I will get some great recipe ideas along with it soon.


Ingredients:

100 grams frozen or fresh pumpkin (you can also use zucchini)

1 small onion

1 clove of garlic

salt

ground cumin

chilli or cayenne

fresh parsley (if it's not fresh you won't get the taste of it)

a pinch of turmeric (optional)


Cook the diced pumpkin until it becomes soft. Meanwhile sauté the onions and the garlic in a pan. If you want to go totally oil free use a little water instead of oil. Chop up the parsley finely.

When the pumpkin is soft drain it and add everything into the blender. Blend until smooth.


Always taste your sauces and adjust the spices if needed.


I used this one as a ravioli filling, as dip for my lettuce wraps, and as a salad dressing too.

Hope you enjoyed this recipe and will make it at home. If yes, then don't forget to tag me or send me your creations, I'm always glad to see them :)



You can follow me on social media:

Instagram @itsmedorawhite

Pinterest Dora Feher

bottom of page