top of page

Vegan bolognese & using leftovers

Hi Lovelies,

Everyone who knows me, knows that I love to cook so much. Usually I cook every day, but I like recipes, which don't take a lot of time from my day. So I try to plan my lunches throughout the week, and use what's in the fridge. I have a system for managing my fridge content and shopping, but that will be a new post later :)

So here is a recipe for a sauce, which can be used in many ways, you can put leftovers in the freezer and take it out whenever you need it.

100 g granulated soy

1 can tomato sauce

3-4 tomatoes

2 onions

1 medium size zucchini

3-4 gloves of garlic (adjust to taste)

spices: Italian seasoning, or basil, oregano, thyme

olive oil, salt

1-2 tbsp corn starch

Add hot water to the granulated soy, and let it sit for 20 minutes. Heat the olive oil in a pan, and add the chopped onions. Stir until it gets translucent, than add the minced garlic. After 30 seconds, add the soy, which have soaked the water in by now. Stir around and let it brown a bit. Than add chopped zucchini and stir for another 5-6 minutes.

After everything is combined, add the tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, corn starch and the seasoning. Lower the heat and let it simmer for 10 minutes.

1. Vegan bolognese

Cook some pasta and top it with the sauce. Add some vegan cheese grated. I usually make a simple side salad to it, so it is hot & cold, cooked & fresh too. Garnish with fresh basil.

2. Chilli

Use the lefover sauce to make chilli. Cook beans and corn, add some sauce and chilli flakes to it, to make it hot and spicy. You can garnish it with tortilla if you wish.

3. Grilled toast

On some bread spread the sauce, and top it with vegan cheese grated. Put it under the broiler for 5 minutes, till it gets crunchy, the cheese is melted, and it is hot and spicy.

If you don't have vegan cheese on hand than you can use nutritional yeast too, which is a great source of B12. Just add it at the end to the dishes.

If you still have leftover sauce, than freeze it and whenever you need just take it out for use.

If you have any other idea, share your tips, tricks, thoughts on it in the comments or tag me in your posts on social media :)


You can follow me on:

instagram @itsmedorawhite

pinterest Dora Feher

bottom of page