top of page

French toast for autumn

As September sneaks up on us the mornings are getting a bit more chilly, we like to get cozy and warm, and it is a bit harder to get out of bed on a Monday morning. Better believe me this french toast base recipe will be a life saver. It is easy and quick and all you need is a blender and a pan.


I have to be honest, I love every season, but each year my little heart is waiting for the cool weather after the summer heat, and not to mention pumpkin spice everything. All the candles, aroma oils, foods and drinks are dear to me. I even put cinnamon and orange oils in my dishsoap to feel happy during household chores! Burn my candles each night a bit to have a cozy bedroom, leaving the window open to get the fresh breeze and pull my covers up to my ears.


With this breakfast I just can't wait to wake up. You can make the batter the night before, so in the morning you just bake it fresh and serve hot. I usually prep the batter for 4-5 slices (depending on the size of your loaf), feel free to make more or less. You can store it in the fridge for up to 5 days, so can repeat the meal on the days you wish.


Ingredients:

100 g plain tofu

1/2 cup milk (around 125 ml)

pinch of salt

pinch of turmeric (for the yellowish color)


4-5 slices bread of choice

vegan butter for the baking / or put it in the oven than no need for that


Here comes the fun part.

If you make it sweet, than you can add a dash of vanilla and sweetener to the batter.

If you wish to make it salty, than you can add more salt and herbs to your taste. In Hungary we eat everything with garlic and onions, so when I told my co-workers I'm eating sweet french toast they stared at me like I was crazy. Turned out none of them had tasted it before, so had to make a taste test of course.

For the sweet version I blended up the batter, add a bit of vegan butter to the pan and bake them until golden brown. You can bake them in the oven too just keep an eye on it and turn them at least once.

Served mine with cinnamon and nutmeg, agave syrup, fresh pears and berries. If you have some vegan yogurt add a dollop on top.

For the savoury one I baked the french toast, then cooked down a big handful of spinach on vegan butter, added some garlic powder, mustard and vegan cooking cream to it. Pile it on top of your bread, add some fried red onions and favorite fermented veggies. I added pickles, and yes they are purple, because they marinated together with a piece of beetroot.


Hope you enjoyed this recipe and will make it at home. If yes, then don't forget to tag me or send me your creations, I'm always glad to see them :)

Which version do you like more?

You can follow me on social media:

Instagram @itsmedorawhite

Pinterest Dora Feher

bottom of page