top of page

Apple crumble (vegan, glutenfree, sugarfree, oil free)

Hope you're enjoying autumn with all the colours, smells and chilly weather with a sprinkle of sunshine. I would love it to stay like that for all year round.


As you know in every year I'm on a pumpkin kick every fall, but this time I brought you another seasonal favourite of mine: apples. Besides eating seasonal, it can be local too, and it is fun to go to a "pick yourself" apple garden. Try to get different varieties, I love the green ones, and my new favourite is the Baya Maria, which is red on the inside too. How lovely is it?


So if you go and pick your apples, you have to store them carefully, don't drop or press into them, because they can get injured easily and go bad pretty quickly. Store them in a pantry, cool and dry, separated on papers. I usually pick out the ones which are starting to brown a bit, and use them as quickly as possible.


Now my vote was for an apple crumble, but didn't want to use flour or butter (I don't have them on hand now either), so what to whip up instead of those?


Ingredients:

apples, cut into cubes

1 and 1/2 cup gf oats

2 ripe bananas

spices: cinnamon, nutmeg ground cloves

a handful of walnuts (optional, leave it out if you want the recipe nut free, or replace with sunflower or sesame seeds)

sultanas



Cut the apples into cubes and place them on the baking tray.

Mash the bananas really well and mix them with the other ingredients. If the mixture feels a bit dry, than add a splash of non-dairy milk or water to it, until it reaches a crumble consistency. Distribute the mixture on top of the apples and bake it in the oven for about 20 minutes on 200 celsius (400 farenheit). Check on it after 15 minutes not to burn the top of it. You can put a tinfoil on top if necessary.


And it's as simple as that, you are ready to eat. You can top it with ice cream or yoghurt or just eat as it is.

Hope you enjoyed this recipe and will make it at home. If yes, don't forget to tag me or send me your creations, I'm always glad to see them :)


You can follow me on social media:

Instagram @itsmedorawhite

Pinterest Dora Feher

bottom of page